Computerized Point Reduction: Online NJ Defensive Driver Course Now Available
The Chief Administrator of the Motor Vehicle Commission has announced that the Commission has entered into a partnership with two groups that will offer on-line defensive driving courses to New Jersey drivers. Under New Jersey law, a person who completes a defensive driving course is entitled to a two-point reduction in his penalty point total. The credit can be awarded once every five years following completion of the defensive driving course. Those who successfully complete the course are also entitled to a mandatory, three-year automobile insurance discount.
The providers and their web addresses are:
The American Safety Council – www.safemotorist.com (course fee is $49)
I Drive Safely – www.idrivesafely.com (course fee $50)
Unlike traditional classroom safety courses, the computer-based instruction can be completed over a period of days at the convenience of the student. The computer will keep track of the student’s progress during the course.
Category: Muni-Mail Archive